APRA professional development awards

Looking for a career boost? Our Professional Development Awards are back!

The APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs) are presented biennially by APRA AMCOS to the ‘shining lights’ within our songwriting industry, aimed at helping songwriters who demonstrate outstanding talent to reach their full potential.

There are three PDAs awarded each round, with each winner receiving $10,000 cash towards development activities such as: overseas travel to attend music education classes; participating in co-writing activities; song writing workshops, composer seminars and/ or other relevant opportunities.

Applications are now open across the following categories: 

Popular Contemporary (which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop, R&B, country, jazz, EDM, and electronic work)


Film & Television (includes gaming)

Previous New Zealand recipients of APRA Professional Development Awards include Jessica Hansell (aka Coco Solid), Mara TK, Grayson Gilmour, Karl Steven, Alex Taylor, and Samuel Holloway.

Applications for the awards close on Monday 1 May.